We're Happy To Help - Call 888-505-0212
Why Shop DirectHomeMedical.com? Free Shipping Over $99 View Shopping Basket

DirectHomeMedical Customer Product Reviews

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Never too late
Written By: Jay S, Bahrain 9/12/2016
Excellent machine for air travel. Fits right in backpack, so only needed one carryon.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Written By: john l p, Wilton CT 8/15/2016
The biggest difference between these 2 machines, and the most critical, is the ability to set the outer limits, minimum nd maximum ranges of the pressure. Without a "cap" on the pressure if the mask comes off or even leaks the air level would increase up to its maximum unless there is a safety feature to cut off the air flow if it rises to a certain level. The Transcend requires you use a WINDOWS based computer to set pressure parameters. The Z can be set manually, no computer needed.That fact alone makes the Z the winner.

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great size for travel but OH SO loud that it's hard to sleep
Written By: DB53, Pacific Northwest 7/5/2016
I ordered this little machine for travel and was so excited to see its small size when it arrived. Just returned from a 4-night trip. 1st night couldn't get to sleep nor stay asleep due to the noise. My husband lost sleep BC of the noise as well. 2nd and 3rd nights I was able to stay asleep but getting to sleep was so difficult and I'm usually out in a flash with my S9 autoset at home. 4th night I did a bit better but am having a bit of buyers remorse due to the noise factor. Other than the noise, love the size and the pressure seems consistent. I used the heat/moisture piece and did not have dry mouth or nose tissues.

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Good for travel
Written By: Ema1, Lorton, VA 6/11/2016
This is as advertised. It is light weight and has a tiny footprint. I have taken it for travel twice, using it for a total of 12 days. It is very noisy and generates more noise every time I take a deep breath, which I do when I first lie down. I use the muffler that came with my machine and I cannot use it without the muffler. The muffler helps, but does not eliminate the noise. It does add weight and requires that the machine be pushed further away so that the muffler and its tube have space on the nightstand. The moisture exchange sponges will work one night for me. I have found that if I spray sterile saline solution onto them my nose does not dry out as bad. It has made me really appreciate my home CPAP with humidifier. I am keeping it, but will use it only for travel.

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good issues and...
Written By: Jeri, Ohio 4/25/2016
Love the size of this cpap. It is just what I wanted for a upcoming long plane trip. I purchased the battery pack so it could be used on the plane. Takes a while to charge but works well once it is. The only issue I have is the noise. It is much louder than my normal cpap machine. I tested it for a nap at home and found it a little hard to get to sleep. You can hear every breath, in and out. But with the jet noise on a plane, I think it will be fine. Don't think I will be able to us it every night though so will probably end up taking my other machine for the 2 weeks on our cruise.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I like it!
Written By: Michael, Indy 4/8/2016
Read lots of review before buying with most negatives being about the noise level. For me it is VERY quiet - can't hear the machine at all. I use a Dreamwear nasal mask and there's certainly a fair bit of noise THERE but I'm not going to blame it on the CPAP. Work well with the F+P 150 humidifier. Haven't field tested the Powershell battery yet and will try the HME when I do. Can't imagine lugging something around 2 -3 time bigger when I go bicycle and kayak camping.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied
Written By: Arthur, Wisconsin 3/20/2016
I purchased the Z1 in July of 2015 specifically for the purpose of travel. My wife and I are retired and we travel frequently. Initially, I used the Z1 for a couple of long weekends. In October, I used it on a 10 day trip and cruise in Hawaii. We have recently returned from a nearly 1 month trip to Australia & New Zealand including a 15 day cruise. I also used the Z1 on the long flight to Australia and the nearly as long flight from New Zealand. On the basis of this usage, I am very satisfied and pleased that I purchased the Z1. Although it is noisier than my home bedside unit (ResMed S10) it is no where near as objectionable as some other reviews might lead you to believe. I use the recommended "muffler" and a gel mask. I have found that these items used in combination greatly contribute to a quiet nights sleep. In addition, my wife has not had any difficulty sleeping with my use of this machine.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Traveler's CPAP Machine
Written By: Stan, Phoenix, AZ 2/17/2016
If you travel a lot, the Z1 is for you. The number one feature is that it is compact and lightweight. The second feature is the PowerShell with battery which allows you to use it when there is no electricity or when the electricity goes out. I travel to countries where power outages are frequent occurrences. So this CPAP machine is "life saver". I also purchased an extra battery just in case.

Everything together (Z1, power adapter,PowerShell, 2 batteries, mask and hose) is much lighter and more compact than my Respironics CPAP machine. When I pack the Z1 for travel, I put the Z1 into the PowerShell but I remove the battery completely from the lower bay unit that holds the battery. It keeps everything as one unit and prevents the battery from being drained.

I read some of the reviews that stated the Z1 was noisy. That was a concern to me before I purchased it. However after using it, I personally found the Z1 to be very quiet. In fact, I think it's quieter than my home cpap machine. It's possible that those customers might have a high pressure setting (?). My pressure setting is 7.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent, compact CPAP device
Written By: Gerson, Washington, DC 2/2/2016
I do a lot of traveling and have always hoped to find a really compact, high-quality CPAP machine. This is it. There's another one that's been on the market for a long time, but it's junk. The Z-1, in addition to being small and light, is reasonably quiet and appears to be well made. It allows me to take just one piece of luggage on a trip instead of two, and that's a big deal.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just what I needed!
Written By: Patrick, NC 10/23/2015
The Z1 Travel CPAP was exactly what I needed for travel. I travel overseas about 4 times a year and never wanted to lug my regular cpap with me. When I found out about the Z1, I ordered it and it works perfectly for me. It is light weight and easy to use.

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Travel with Ease
Written By: Barb, Floorida 10/14/2015
Traveling with sleep apnea is now easy and less cumbersome! No more gray bags with medical tags, full service from a small, lightweight and fully functional CPAP machine. Where have you been all my life??!!

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Z! Travel CPAP Unacceptably Noisy
Written By: Happy With Resmed, NC 10/10/2015
The Z! Travel CPAP is absolutely too noisy to use with a full face mask, even with the so called supplied in line muffler. The muffler reduces the noise going through the CPAP tube from extremely loud to very loud (a very small amount). I even tried ear plugs; It was still way too loud. A person would need to be deaf to not be disturbed by the loud amount of air flow sound going through the tube that changes pitch and volume with every breath. I will need to travel with the my larger almost inaudible ResMed CPAP. I do not recommend the Z! Travel CPAP for anyone who likes a quiet environment for sleeping. Thank you.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love this little guy
Written By: Lynn T, San Marcos 9/30/2015
I have used this machine for a week of travel and find it easy to use and will be taking it on a 10 day cruise in November, which is the main reason I bought it.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great, with trade offs
Written By: co226, Wisconsin 9/19/2015
Nothing in this world is perfect. This machine is ridiculously small and light. It's in my backpack as I wait for my flight at the airport and it's almost like it's not there. No more extra bag just for my CPAP machine. But with this great convenience comes a price. As others have said this little machine will be noisier than most - it makes a whine as people have noted, especially during inhalation. Did it bother me? At first sure, it wasn't something that I was used to. But as usually happens on a business trip my exhaustion kicked in and I slept fine. No issues whatsoever with my pressure, slept like I do at home with my regular machine. Again, nothing is perfect. But I have no regrets buying this amazing machine.

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
So noisy!!!
Written By: Kelley, Colorado 9/16/2015
I was so excited to get this small machine, but it is SO noisy with inhalation and exhalation I haven't used it much.

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Written By: CLM, New York 8/18/2015
Purchased the Z1 for travel - tired of lugging around extra bag to airport and whole set up process. Have used it for two days at home, and so far so good. No complaints of noise as Z1 is very quiet. HME works well also, thought would pose a problem as I have a RESMED with water tank but HME provides sufficient humidity. Only issue some may have - when using Z breathe mode machine appears to ramp down too far - so using it in regular mode worked better for me, also a little adjustment to force exerted on exhale but again adjusted and no issues. When actually travel with it, will come back and review again but thus far love machine and very happy with purchase

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
nice little machine
Written By: Kathy, Wisconsin 6/14/2015
The Z1 Autopap works well, had no problems with it. It does make an annoying high pitched hum that oscillates with my breathing, but once I was asleep I didn't notice it. This is in addition to the normal sound of the device which is just white noise and very tolerable. I am disappointed that the inline humidifier doesn't really work if you use nasal pillows as the only attachment location is far down from the pillows. So the *bonus pack* turned out to be of no value to me. Plan to use it backpacking/camping.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Makes travelling with a CPAP so much easier!
Written By: Frans W, Tucson AZ 6/11/2015
It is kind of loud especially on the inhale cycle, but it didn't keep neither my wife or me awake, so :-) And in all fairness I run it pretty close to the upper end of the pressure range (18), so that little thing has to work for a living :-) And we live in a "fairly dry" area (southern Arizona desert) so HME concept is not ideal here, though still better than no humidification. I also purchased the external F&P humidifier when I got the Z1, and with that it works like a charm. We recently took a trip to SC and I had a chance to try a HME in a more humid climate, and it worked great! I really couldn't be happier and the whole setup (cpap, power adapter, hose, mask, hme) fit in the fleece bag that comes with the Z1 and that easily fit into my laptop backpack together with my DSLR, laptop, toiletries, misc chargers etc. And the backpack still fit nicely inside the overhead storage in a CRJ 200 which has the smallest darn overhead compartments I've ever seen. A regular carry-on roller has absolutely NO chance of fitting in one of those. So for the first time in many years I travelled with just one carry-on. I really love this little thing! I do however have a more regular CPAP (the F&P 234) for my daily use at home. It's quieter and easier/less "messy" than dealing with a separate humidifier setup. But for travelling this little thing is absolute FANTASTIC!

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love this machine, better than ResMed
Written By: katydid, Florida 6/9/2015
I love the Z1. I used to use the ResMed with humidifier. I tried the Z1 to make sure it was going to work for travel, and found that I like it better than the ResMed, plus I don't need the humidifier at all! Probably because it is very humid in Florida right now, so maybe in the drier months I'll need it, but for now, the Z1 is great. Yes, it has a bit of a revving noise, but I use a 10-minute ramp up from level 4, and the noise is not obvious at first, and I'm asleep before it completely kicks in. I also found that if I face the machine, I hear it more, but if I turn the other way, I don't. Can't explain that. But I get more deep sleep with this machine, for whatever reason (maybe because the motor turns over faster?). I've been using it for about 3 weeks with my Swift FX and I don't want to go back. I bought it for size but I'm going to retire my ResMed and use this machine all the time.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Z1 is A1
Written By: HR, Round and about. 3/2/2015
Works great and the perfect size for travelling. The folks at CBP can no longer laugh at the CPAPasaurus I've been travelling with.

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good for a travel machine
Written By: Bill K, Ohio 2/19/2015
I bought this machine as a backup to my Resmed machine. I wanted a lightweight machine for when I travel, so I did not have to break down my CPAP machine and pack / unpack it. I also wanted a machine that runs on batteries for when I go tent camping. The machine is not as good as my Resmed, but it does deliver the qualities that I was most hoping for.

1. Noise level - As noted by many reviews the machine is noisier than my other machine. Interestingly, the noise is not from the machine itself. It seem to travel up the tube and is noisy at the mask. Having said that, it is not too bad and just becomes a white noise. My wife cannot tell the difference which machine I use, and I fall asleep just as easy.

2. Pressure relief - I turned the pressure relief down to 1. My pressure setting is a 10 and I found that on higher settings, the delay made me feel like I was trying to suck air out of the machine. When I set it to 1, that seemed to resolve that suffocating feeling and everything felt fine. This pressure relief is also what causes the machine to "rev" up and down, as noted by other raters. On this lower setting, it was not even noticeable.

3. Battery Power - This is the real strength of this outfit. The batteries are extremely light and provide 10 to 11 hours of use. The whole system is convenient and I often just keep it on the bed next to me. Everything in this regard is well designed.

4. Humidity - I live in Ohio and generally do not use a humidifier except for the coldest couple of months in the winter, when the air is very dry. For most of my travel and camping, I have no need for the added humidity. I have not tried the HME units, but I bought a couple in case I have a situation where I need it.

Overall, I like the unit. It is not as good as my old standby, but I sleep well regardless of which machine I use. I probably would not buy this as a primary unit but feel it is a wonderful option for traveling and camping.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Z1 Portable CPAP
Written By: Carrick, Brooklyn NY 12/18/2014
This is a great little machine. My wife says it is as quiet as my home machine, but to me it is a little louder. I use my regular tubing and snuggle with it at home and then it is just as quiet to me too; and when we travel I use the shorter tube and I sleep great.

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Very loud. Love the size. Works best in hotel with loud AC or Heating units
Written By: Tom, NH 11/26/2014
I love the size. Perfect to pack with carry on luggage. I'm very frustrated with trying to find the right mask. I've had no luck so far. Make sure you do the software upgrade. Before I did the software upgrade it was very hard to exhale. The only positive thing is the size. I love the size and I will continue to use it. Very unhappy.

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
To Good to be True?
Written By: Greg, Bangor Maine area 11/17/2014
I bought this system because of its small size which would make it easy to carry on motorcycle trips and as a back-up to my aging Resmed Elite machine. The unit is very, very small and light, and the controls are easy to use. One of the therapists in my department - Im a registered pulmonary technologist in a large medical center - asked How can something so small generate enough flow? (flow = pressure). It does generate sufficient peak pressure, Im sure meeting whats prescribed, but it feels like I have to suck air out of the machine during most of inspiration instead of having a constant flow exceeding what I need. There is also an annoying whine, making every breath sound like a helicopter spooling up for take-off then suddenly shutting down. This machine is at least twice as noisy as my Resmed. Since FDA regulations prohibit returning the machine Im stuck with a paper weight that will be used as a teaching tool for patients (avoid this) before sitting on a shelf for a few years, eventually ending up in the trash. Direct Home Medical was very, very easy to deal with and had lightning fast, free shipping. However I will never again buy another CPAP system without being able to first try out a comparable machine.

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Caution on waterless hype
Written By: Roberta Disappointment , Prescott Valley 10/22/2014
At first, I thought this was heaven. Then, I thought I had a huge allergy attack. Came down to the water less humidifier - ah no so great.

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Really nice
Written By: All Night Sleeper, Minnesota 10/18/2014
I purchased this CPAP for camping and travel. I found it to be kind of loud through the hose to the mask. I think a longer hose would really improve this. The people I was camping with didn't even hear the machine. Some of the reviews say the hose adapter to the machine is fragile but it looks to me to be made out of polycarbonate which is extremely strong. This CPAP is really nice and incredibly small. I think it is perfect travel machine.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Z1 CPAP well worth the price
Written By: Dan, NH 9/30/2014
I travel quite a bit and some of the travel is on recreational vehicle where i must take a week's worth of clothing and related supplies in a backpack so weight and space is at a premium. I also have a vacation cabin i frequent. I bought this CPAP to be my travel/cabin CPAP. Replaces a significantly larger and heavier ResMed system. The Z1 is tremendous. quiet and easy to use. it is easy to turn on and off; easy to program ramp times etc. would highly recommend it. Direct Home Medical very good to deal with. would highly recommend them.

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Great size but NOISY
Written By: M Ray, NC 9/12/2014
The order was shipped very quickly and the description of the size is accurate- it is the perfect size for travel. However, it is much noisier than I anticipated. With every breathe it sounds like an engine revving up. I had hoped to use this machine during frequent travel but will only use when minimum space is essential. I got info on a return option when the product arrived- check that out BEFORE purchasing.

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Z1 travel cpap
Written By: KathyM, Texas 8/27/2014
Over all I like this machine very much, I use it all the time, not just for travel and have had it in daily use now for 4 months. It ramps faster than my old one which I like and is easy to pack. I have a concern about the tube adaptor, I feel I need to order a spare, it seems flimsy and easily breakable. So far it has not broken but I think it's an accident waiting to happen. They need to re-design that. Also, the filters are going to be more expensive as they are so large compared to the little cube in my old machine. I never used the vaporizer part of my other machine so that part is not missed. It seems as quiet and efficient as the other one but on a smaller scale!

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Z1 Promises a lot and delivers
Written By: Jay, San Francisco 8/24/2014
I received the machine rather quickly and was happy to see that it was a very easy to use machine. If I didn't already have a regular c-pap machine, this could easily work as an everyday device. My major reason for purchase was to have something that I could take on trips, but I have it set up in the living room for when I feel like taking a nap. Why not. I have no problem adjusting back and forth from it to my regular machine. The way the Z1 is made with the pressure adjustment it seems to work well and I have a fairly high range too 14+ I did not purchase the battery / shell option. There are external batteries that power 15 volt devices (the kind that are designed to charge laptop computers or DVD) that cost a lot less and will work for a full night's sleep. I have not ordered one yet, but probably will.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Z1 Travel CPAP
Written By: AWSpeer, Louisiana 8/23/2014
product is easy to set-up & use and performs as advertised.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cpap z1
Written By: Dino A, 8/9/2014
Great travel Cpap. Care should be exercised in putting hose adapter connection. A little brittle if not installed properly. But otherwise great machine for purpose.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great little CPAP
Written By: Kevin, Missouri 8/8/2014
I've owned three CPAP machines now and in many ways this one is the best. I've had the Z1 for a couple weeks including a trip overseas. It is lightweight and small so it is great for travel. It also is the quietest of the three (a big plus from my wife's perspective). Has basics (like ramp up and down) and the battery shell option is still compact and lightweight so perfect for travel. The heated humidifier option is a completely separate external option that could be used with any CPAP and works well though it is a little bulky so if you have to have a humidifier you will lose the compact advantages. I have no problems with it but being completely separate you'll want to remember to turn the humidifier on and off as well. Very happy with the performance though and like the humidifier option as well. The battery needs recharge between uses (single night capacity) - the universal option I had for my other CPAP is bulkier but did boast at least a two night capacity between recharges. The only other caveat is that the Z1 does not have an auto-on feature where you just put on your mask and start breathing. You have to manually turn it on which my others do not require. Not a big deal for me. Overall I really like this and due to it's being so very quiet it could become my regular CPAP, not just my travel machine.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Small and compact
Written By: Marin, Whidbey Island 7/26/2014
Purchased it for travel and so far happy with it. Like the small size and the battery. I have not yet used the battery pack yet. It will be great for use on a boat or camper.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great device
Written By: Lisa, Santa Clara 7/20/2014
Love this little thing. So small, light weight and inconspicuous. I was able to buy a small cosmetic bag and get everything I need into it including tubing. No one would know I have a CPAP. I slept just as good with it as with my regular CPAP when I tried it out and that was without the humidifer filter. It was a bit noisy as others said with air coming through the tube outlet near the mask. But I still slept well. I highly recommend it for travel.

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Z1 cpap machine
Written By: gary, fla 6/7/2014
Just got my new Z1 cpap machine and I have to report the similar issues. The machine has too much airway resistance during exhalation and increase workload during inspiration when compared to phillips remstar. My guess is the intake and discharge ports are too small to permit adequate air flow . In addition the automatic pressure adjustments do little to improve the workload in breathing. When I switch back to my remststar my breathing is effortless. Don't get me wrong the Z1 has a great design, is good for traveling and emergency situations but is not ready for every day use. Good sleep require effortless breathing and the Z1 needs a little more tweaking to compete with other models. My suggestion would be to eliminate the software, go straight cpap or bipap and open up the intake and discharge ports.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent for travel tempted to use every day
Written By: Andy S, NJ 6/6/2014
I needed a CPAP that I could travel with. This machine is exactly what I needed. It is a little louder than my regular machine but not bad. Delivery was fast and everything was ready to go right out of the box. My insurance would not pay for a travel machine but it was worth it. I just wish that the battery pack was not so expensive or I would have purchased that as well.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Want to travel with cpap-this will not disappoint
Written By: BGT MD, Mereta, TX 5/23/2014
I am an Anesthesiologist of some 30 years, so I know respiratory equipment. I had been using cpap in home for 6 months and had tired of packing the relatively large and cumbersome equipment to take on trips. I did not ever try to fly with it. I knew that surely there was a more portable solution and did some Googling. Found and researched the Z1. Besides the just plain cool factor I have found the Z1 to be quite effective and sophisticated and is so small and easily taken along on trips. I have upgraded the firmware once on their friendly and helpful website. I miss a humidifier but this would hinder the portability. The add on Fisher and Paykel 150 works well. Wish the battery were a bit cheaper as I would probably get one to test. I think it would add to the coolness and usefulness factor. If you are looking for a sophisticated , compact, travel cpap unit, this is the one. Directhomemedical is a very honest and value oriented medical supplier.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
just what I was looking for.
Written By: Ron K., Billings MT 4/18/2014
I had gotten tired of lugging my home CPAP machine around when traveling. I have shoulder issues and it was not helping. I was amazed at the Z1's size, it was even smaller than I had anticipated. Despite its size, it works great. My mask is a little noisier, but I have quickly adjusted. Would recommend to anyone that travels.

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Mini Me Air
Written By: Jack, Lincoln, Nebraska 4/17/2014
This miniscule machine is excellent for the traveler, at least for overnight. It's lightweight and easy to set up, and doesn't take up much room in an overnight bag or suitcase. The only downsides is trying to get the filter in the machine. The directions for taking off the end cap don't work, and I ended up having to use a screwdriver to take it off so the filter could be installed. I look forward to trying the machine on an extended trip and see if it still works as it well as it did on a one-night stand.

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very nice, lightweight CPAP for traveling
Written By: Groveratt, Texas 4/14/2014
I have used this on one trip for 2 nights and was very pleased with the operation. It was very quiet. tubing was too short to use with my hose hanger, so I will take a 6 footed next trip. Also, at first exhalation pressure was high, but it adapted automatically during the night. Their software is useless . Does not report AHI, which is of most interest to me.

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Written By: Anne, Pacific Northwest 4/6/2014
I was so excited about getting this machine. I travel out of the country quite frequently and anticipate this will be a lot easier to travel with. I got the machine in time to take it for a test drive and here is what I found; Yes, indeed the machine is very small and compact and will fit very neatly in a bag in my backpack. However, the machine is not quiet! It's kind of like cuddling up to a hairdryer that's turned on. I called Direct Medical and they suggested using a longer tube (I was using the 4 foot tube which I really liked). I switched to my old 6 foot tube which is a lot more durable and it cut the sound down some but it's still noisy. It's not that the machine motor is noisy, I think it's the air that's flowing through the tubing. I did not have this problem with my Philips Respironic OneREMstar machine which is very quiet. After using the Z1 for the past two nights I've ended up removing it after 4 or 5 hours because it's just too obnoxious. I'm going out of town next week and I'm hoping I'll be a little more used to the noise by then.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Travel Z Pak
Written By: Marti, North Carolina 3/27/2014
Small and performs as described.

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
More Pros than Cons, but...
Written By: Sean T, Silver Spring, MD 3/16/2014
Pros: OK, the Z1 is very light and smaller than the unit I usually use at home, and it comes with a four-foot tube, which also helps. I bought it to use while traveling, and should be able to use on plane with battery pack. So all good so far. Cons: 1. User guide doesn't have instructions for setting pressure. 2. Noise. It says it's very quiet, and I suppose it is, but it seems noisier than my Remstar Plus. Not a big deal, but I saw other people commenting on that so I thought I'd note it, too. Won't keep me awake, that's for sure. 3. Humidifier filters. Really don't care for these. I'll try them out on my next trip, but I suspect I probably won't use them--cost is too high. 4. Battery pack holder. This is both a pro and a con, in that it's handy having the integrated holder for the unit and the battery, but there are no instructions saying how to remove the unit from the holder. I just hope I can do so w/o breaking anything. 5. Hose adaptor for unit. Too flimsy--it has a special bracket so that the hose adapter will fit into the Z1 one way. However, the plastic is not that strong, and could be easily broken while on travel or just by accidentally pushing too hard to insert it, I would guess. I think the manufacturer should have either used a standard tube adaptor or stronger, less brittle plastic. I'm still very happy with the unit, it worked fine the one night I used it, and am sure it'll be a huge plus when I travel. However, it does have some shortcomings. I think anyone would be satisfied with it, though you might want to see if you can order a couple of the light weight CPAPs in addition to the Z1 and see if you can try them out (e.g., one of the models by Transcend).

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Written By: Lucille P, Burlington WI 3/15/2014
The product was fine.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Road Worries Over
Written By: Bob B., North Dakota 3/8/2014
This very small machine fits the bill for traveling. It is very small, very quiet, and very convenient to carry. It provides almost all of the support my home machine provides and I have found that I do not need to carry a humidifier. I love it.

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Small Package, Big Disappointment
Written By: Lloyd P, Washington 2/17/2014
Traveled to California with my z1 for the first time this weekend. Was excited to pack it in my small messenger bag without any issues. Yes, it is super lightweight and portable. Unfortunately upon arriving at the LAX Marriott it would not start. I just got a flashing screen with flashing eights. Quickly went to HDM's website which provided no helpful support. I also checked the PDF support manual. Nothing. I then called HDM's support line and was told that they couldn't help and to contact Direct Home Medical. Direct Home Medical was extremely helpful and tried to do basic troubleshooting, which didn't resolve the problem. As soon as I return home I need to ship the unit back to Direct Home Medical. What upsets me the most is that I have used my Cpap religiously since being diagnosed, and the HDM Z1 was purchased to make traveling easier. This weekend was the first time I had to go without treatment.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great machine
Written By: Tilly, Colorado 2/9/2014
The machine is very light, and very quiet. It should serve me well in my travels and visits!

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Z1 CPAP - Small & Light & It Works
Written By: CpapUser, New Jersey 2/1/2014
The Z1 arrived from DHM in less than a day from shipping date. 36 hours later it worked beautifully in South America where I am spending two weeks on holiday. Its small and light and it works! The ramp up feature was easy to set with initial pressure and time as the two variables. DHM personnel were very helpful, calling to confirm that the order was being processed and shipped. The Z1 is not cheap but for me it is worth the money.

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Z1 CPAP Review
Written By: Charles, Hollywood, FL 1/29/2014
I travel and this replaced my old travel machine (I have a larger day to day unit that is difficult to lug around). Z1 - very small. Without the battery it is also super light. With the battery and holster, still small but getting "bigger". The 4 foot hose is easier to travel with than the 6 foot. My 1st trip I took a smaller full face mask but have since replaced it with my spare Resmed low profile full face mask as it is less noisy. The humidifier is very clever but seemed to add to the noise with the smaller mask. I haven't tried the replacement mask yet so we will see how the humidifier works with a better fitting mask. All in all, I am very happy with the new machine. All the pieces go into a small ebags packing cube and is easy to pull out for security at airports. I haven't tried it on a red-eye yet but I am sure it will work as planned for.

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Written By: Susan, Texas 1/16/2014
I recently purchased the Z1 CPAP machine and I am very pleased with it. I did not purchase the battery pack as I simple wanted something light weight for travel. The Z1 itself is very quiet, very light weight and very easy to set up and use. However, I am a little disappointed in the noise level which seems to be coming from the exhalation ports of my Swift FX nasal mask. It is a lot louder than I am use to but not to the point that I would discontinue the use of the Z1. I usually use the Respironics System One with a humidifier and I notice very little if any noise. I am puzzled as to why there is noise with the Z1... It could very simply just be the differences in the two cpap machines. Overall, this is a great machine for those looking for a light weight travel solution.

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Written By: Luiz F, 1/13/2014
I have been currently using the A-FLEX from Respironics and Mirage FX mask with amazing results. Z1 is the best option for anyone who travels a lot . It is really small however there is few things that could improve as noise reduction and auto version.

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
To early to really tell
Written By: Richie, Great Neck, NY 1/8/2014
Just received it. The size and weight are perfect. I set it up at the pressure is strong. I need to use it for a couple of weeks to be a 100 % happy.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Z1 Travel CPAP
Written By: Bob R, Albuquerque NM 1/6/2014
I've been waiting for this type of miniture product for years. I was tired of lugging a shoe box sized CPAP on my domestic and overseas travel. Ordered this one on Monday, had it by Fri and was on a flight Sat morning. It really is as small and light as the ad depicts. Has somewhat less functionality than my other CPAP, but it reliably delivered the entire week I was on travel. I'm ordering the battery pack for backpack camping and other nights away from power.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Product
Written By: Jamie, Madison, WI 1/1/2014
I recently ordered the Z1 cpap. I think your customer service can not be beat. Your people were alert, knowledgable, efficient, and caring. Even though I have not tried it out yet, I know it will be perfect. It will only be used for traveling, which I might travel one-2 days a month. I believe it is sufficient and am looking forward to using it in the the near future. Great service!

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Z1 new to the market
Written By: Robert M, Bradenton Fl 12/11/2013
The Z1 is small, quiet and new. Aside from a few design changes that I have communicated to (Human Design Medical's) VP of sales and marketing, I am pleased with the unit. The website does not yet have the software download posted so you can interrogate the machine as to usage. This is coming soon per (HDM). (HDM) reached out to me via e-mail and I was impressed (they) took such an interest. I will continue to keep (them) informed as to my progress and his new product.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sweet Little Lifesaver
Written By: Debbls, TX/TN 12/5/2013
This thing is so easy and lightweight, gotta lovit! First night used plugged in, so quiet and worked perfectly. Second night, unplugged and used with battery. No difference in sleep. This will go in my carry on, nobody will know this palm sized beauty is a CPAP and I'll be happy to use in hotels and planes without all the hassle. Although expensive, esp. the battery (I have another brand with heavy lithiums that don't get near the price.), but if you really want an easy, lightweight CPAP, this is your baby!!


We Ship UPS We Ship US Postal Service MasterCard Accepted American Express Accepted Discover Card Accepted PayPal Accepted

DirectHomeMedical.com offers online support through our website, live chat and toll free support during normal business hours, and email support 24-hours a day. Please contact us if you have any questions about our services or the products we sell. DirectHomeMedical.com is authorized and approved, by the manufacturers we represent, to sell and ship products to end-users residing in the United States, not to other third parties or businesses. A prescription is required for the purchase of certain products on this site. All products offered are sourced directly from the original equipment manufacturers or their representatives. PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some products on this site may contain a chemical known to the State of California to cause cancer, birth defects or other reproductive harm. COPYRIGHTS: Selected product images and descriptions used throughout this site are used with the permission of the copyright holders. All ResMed Product Images © ResMed. All Philips Respironics Product Images © Philips Respironics. All Fisher & Paykel Healthcare Product Images © Fisher & Paykel Healthcare. Site Design & Content Copyright © 2004-2016 DirectHomeMedical.com. Respironics recommends that new patients purchase their devices, masks and initial accessories from a homecare company that can provide an individualized patient equipment set-up, clinical and after-sale support, and a program to assist patients with therapy success. All products and services advertised on this site are provided by DirectHomeMedical.com or its designates.
Privacy Policy & Terms of Use | Return & Exchange Policy | Call Toll Free 888-505-0212 | Fax 603-386-6277